Llanrwst Town Council logo

Llanrwst Town Council

Home > The Council > About Us

About Us

The town of Llanrwst is situated in the Conwy valley, North Wales. It has a resident population of around 3600, there are around 1550 dwellings and approximately 200 businesses of various kinds. In addition several hundred people come into the town daily, including those visiting for business purposes, for shopping, leisure or enjoying a meal out, school children attending Ysgol Dyffryn Conwy and, of course, those from neighbouring communities who are employed here in the town. We also welcome many tourists and visiting sports teams and their supporters throughout the year.

Recognised as the principal connurbation outside of Conwy county’s coastal belt, Llanrwst has long been regarded as the natural centre and focus of rural Conwy. It has been a transport hub and a place of business, shopping and entertainment for surrounding communities – and an increasingly popular tourist destination. The town supports a weekly street market and there are regular cattle markets.

Llanrwst was, for many decades, home to three separate local authorities, as well as the local water and sewerage board, but The Llanrwst Town Council was established as a Community Council in 1974, adopting, in 1986/7, the designation of Town Council, with a Mayor as its civic head.

The Council serves the town of Llanrwst, the hamlet of Tafarn y Fedw and some outlying areas to the North and South of the town itself. Its area lies principally on the east bank of the Conwy river, but also includes Gwydir Park – across the Pont Fawr. The area is divided into two wards – Gower and Crwst . You can see a map of the Town Council’s area and find detailed statistics about its two wards under the “Your Councillors” tab.

The community elects 13 councillors to represent them on the Town Council. Currently councillors serve for a period of five years.

Each year at its Annual Meeting, held during May, the Council elects one of its members to serve as Town Mayor.

You can find information on our current Town Mayor, and the councillors for each ward – with their contact details – under the “Your Councillors” tab.


Contact Us

Correspondence address:
Llanrwst Town Council
The Almshouses
Church Street
LL26 0LE

E-mail us: clercllanrwst@outlook.com

Answerphone service available: 01492 643221

Council mobile: 07841866826